What is Opting Out?

What's the difference between opting out and blocking?

Opting out means you've told a set of targeted advertising networks not to serve you ads based on where else they know you've been. They can still collect information about you, but to honor their opt out, they've promised not to target you with ads.

Blocking means you're stopping third-party sites, including various tracking companies that collect your info, from (1), ever seeing that you've visted a website, and (2), putting cookies on your machine.

How does it work?

When you install DNTMe, you're adding a list of opt out cookies that tell these companies not to follow you. Opt out cookies are different from regular cookies: they're more like a privacy setting, and they don't collect any information about you.

Where can I learn more?

You can read more about opt out cookies and online tracking at The Network Advertising Initiative (NAI), an industry group of advertisers that is committed to building ethical advertising and marketing standards. http://www.networkadvertising.org/